Howard President Wayne A. I. Frederick, M.D., MBA, Elected to National Academy of Medicine

Photo of Wayne A. I. Frederick

WASHINGTON – Wayne A. I. Frederick, M.D., MBA, Charles R. Drew professor of surgery and Howard University president, was elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) today. He joins the 90 new regular and 10 new international members who were announced at today’s annual meeting.  

According to today’s announcement from NAM, Dr. Frederick was chosen “for being a tireless and gifted higher education leader and health care administrator and world-renowned surgeon. As president of Howard University, he has worked to develop a diverse health care workforce while serving as an adviser to U.S. and international officials in navigating the COVID-19 pandemic.” 

Election to NAM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.  

“I am deeply humbled and honored to join this most august academy of individuals,” said Dr. Frederick. “The individuals in this academy have shaped medicine for decades. They represent the most compassionate and dedicated professionals. It is my sincere intent and hope to uphold their values and to contribute as they have to the advancement of medicine worldwide.”   

New members are elected by current members through a process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health. A diversity of talent among NAM’s membership is assured by its articles of organization, which stipulate that at least one-quarter of the membership is selected from fields outside the health professions — for example, from such fields as law, engineering, social sciences, and the humanities. 

“This extraordinary class of new members is comprised of exceptional scholars and leaders who have been at the forefront of responding to serious public health challenges, combatting social inequities, and achieving innovative discoveries,” said Victor J. Dzau, president of NAM. “Their expertise will be vital to informing the future of health and medicine for the benefit of us all.  I am truly honored to welcome these esteemed individuals to the National Academy of Medicine.” 

About Howard University 

Founded in 1867, Howard University is a private, research university that is comprised of 14 schools and colleges. Students pursue more than 140 programs of study leading to undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees. The University operates with a commitment to Excellence in Truth and Service and has produced one Schwarzman Scholar, three Marshall Scholars, four Rhodes Scholars, 12 Truman Scholars, 25 Pickering Fellows and more than 165 Fulbright recipients. Howard also produces more on-campus African American Ph.D. recipients than any other university in the United States. For more information on Howard University, visit  

About National Academy of Medicine 

Established originally as the Institute of Medicine in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine addresses critical issues in health, science, medicine, and related policy and inspires positive actions across sectors. NAM works alongside the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering to provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation and conduct other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions. The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine also encourage education and research, recognize outstanding contributions to knowledge, and increase public understanding of STEMM. With their election, NAM members make a commitment to volunteer their service in National Academies activities. 

Media Contact: Misha Cornelius,